L'Autre École for
a better world

Make
want to get involved in life

The Other School's ambition is to allow each child to become himself or herself. We have imagined an Other School because we believe that academic excellence alone is insufficient to prepare children for the world of tomorrow.

In a changing world, we believe that knowing how to adapt and how to get involved in causes that are important to us contributes to happiness. Also, combining pleasure and knowledge, giving a taste for sharing and the pleasure of living together are essential conditions for creating the committed actors of tomorrow.

Finally, we believe that intelligence is multiple, cognitive, social and emotional, and that developing this potential is a determining factor in the overall construction of the individual. L'Autre École offers a caring environment that respects differences in order to bring out the best in everyone.

First of all,
Human encounters

L'Autre École was born of human encounters around Lionel, its founder. It is above all a vision and a common desire carried by a group of committed professionals: to offer an alternative education to contribute to living well together tomorrow in a better world.

It is this conviction that gave birth to the first School in Boulogne-Billancourt, animated with dedication by its director Laurence: to change the world, we must change the way individuals interact, thus changing the way we prepare our children to become adults. All the employees of L'Autre École are convinced of this.

A world seeking for meaning

L'Autre École was born out of a look at the world in search of meaning that is our world today, a world that is not going well and that could get better if we started to rethink education.

This world is moving fast. In fact, it has never changed as fast as it has in the last 70 years. And yet educational models are not changing, or not changing enough. Schools cannot solve everything, but they must be nourished by societal changes in order to meet the needs of the times.
Our world is built, in part, around myths and stories that our level of knowledge now allows us to look at with lucidity, and even to deconstruct.

Accepting that at least some of the inconsistencies and misunderstandings that shake contemporary humanity as a result of such conditioning means putting education at the heart of our society, making school the solution to transmit the feeling of belonging to the same human community of destiny.

Another school seems therefore necessary, and therefore possible. A school whose ambition would be to give everyone the keys to become an individual sensitive to living well together and responsible for his or her impact on the environment, fitting into the human community as well as possible.

What we are
convinced of

Liberate rather than formatting

The school should aim to unleash the potential and uniqueness of each child, not to fit them into a box.

Prepare for tomorrow's world

Today's children can contribute to the ongoing societal transition. In a changing world, we must learn to adapt and develop the key competencies of tomorrow's world: creativity, critical thinking, collaboration.

Constantly rethink the educational model

In order to fulfil its mission, an educational model must be able to evolve to keep pace with the needs and progress of the times. Tomorrow's school must be intelligent, agile and forward-looking.

To foster Autonomy

The child shows a desire for autonomy from a very young age. When placed in a rich and caring environment, this desire becomes a source of creativity and personal growth.

Recreating social ties

The school must fully play its role of civic and moral instruction. It is a matter of inculcating a system of values, particularly through solidarity and a taste for sharing.

Creating the conditions for good learning and well-being

The role of the school is to create a caring and joyful environment that respects difference to bring out the best in everyone.

Redefining the boundary between school and home

We integrate parents into the pedagogical system of L'Autre École to create a close link between school and home, two spaces for learning and development that we consider complementary.

Many sources
of inspiration

L'Autre École sets its pedagogical framework in contact with a multidisciplinary college of experts composed of teachers, pedagogues, neuroscience researchers, child psychiatrists, philosophers and parents. These sources of knowledge and inspiration nourish the educational line and the diversity of teaching in an evolutionary way, to take into account advances in research, but also feedback from students, parents and the community of teachers and carers.  

The teaching implemented at L'Autre École is thus based in particular on the breadth of old and new knowledge, with particular attention paid to positive and alternative pedagogies centered on the child(Montessori, Freinet, Steiner).

Our pedagogical committee

Another school is possible

Another school is thus possible, which would have the ambition to give everyone the keys to become an individual who is both happy and responsible for his or her environment, fitting into the human community as well as possible. A school that would invite us to meet others, where everything would become possible, so that our children could embody "the change we want to see in this world".

Une Autre École pour
un monde meilleur

Donner envie de
s'engager dans la vie

L’Autre École a pour ambition de permettre à chaque enfant de devenir lui-même. Nous avons imaginé une Autre École parce que nous croyons que la seule excellence académique est insuffisante pour préparer les enfants au monde de demain.

Dans un monde qui change, nous pensons que savoir s'adapter et s'engager dans des causes qui nous tiennent à cœur participe au bonheur. Aussi, associer plaisir et savoir, donner le goût du partage et du plaisir de vivre ensemble sont des conditions indispensables pour créer les acteurs engagés de demain.

Enfin nous croyons que l’intelligence est multiple, à la fois cognitive, sociale et émotionnelle et que développer ce potentiel est déterminant dans la construction globale de l’individu. Enfin, L'Autre École offre un environnement bienveillant qui respecte les différences pour révéler le meilleur de chacun.

Des rencontres
humaines avant tout

L’Autre École est née de rencontres humaines autour de Lionel, son fondateur. C’est avant tout une vision et un désir commun portés par un collectif de professionnels engagés : proposer une éducation alternative pour contribuer à bien vivre ensemble demain dans un monde meilleur.

C'est cette conviction qui a donné naissance à la première École à Boulogne-Billancourt, animée avec dévouement par sa directrice Laurence : pour changer le monde, il faut changer la façon dont interagissent les individus, donc changer la façon dont on prépare nos enfants à devenir adultes. Tous les collaborateurs de L'Autre École en sont convaincus.

Un monde en quête de sens

L’Autre École est née d'un regard porté sur le monde en quête de sens qu'est notre monde d'aujourd'hui,  un monde qui ne tourne pas rond et qui pourrait aller mieux si l’on commençait par repenser l’éducation.

Ce monde va vite. Il ne s’est d’ailleurs jamais transformé aussi vite qu’au cours des 70 dernières années. Et pourtant les modèles éducatifs ne changent pas, ou pas assez. L’école ne peut certes pas tout résoudre, mais elle doit se nourrir des évolutions sociétales pour épouser les besoins de son temps.
Notre monde est bâti, en partie, autour de mythes et d’histoires que notre niveau de connaissance nous permet désormais de regarder avec lucidité, voire de déconstruire.

Accepter qu’une partie au moins des incohérences et des incompréhensions qui agitent l'humanité contemporaine résulte de ces conditionnements, c’est mettre l’éducation au cœur de notre société, c’est faire de l’école la solution pour transmettre le sentiment d’appartenance à une même communauté humaine de destin.

Une autre école semble dès lors nécessaire, et donc possible. Une école qui aurait pour ambition de donner à chacun les clés pour devenir un individu sensible au bien vivre ensemble et responsable de son impact sur l'environnement, s’insérant au mieux dans la communauté Humaine.

Ce dont nous sommes
convaincus

Libérer plus que formater

L'école doit se donner pour ambition de libérer le potentiel et la singularité de chaque enfant, et non de le faire entrer dans une case.

Préparer au monde de demain

Les enfants d'aujourd'hui peuvent contribuer à la transition sociétale en cours. Dans un monde qui change, il faut apprendre à s’adapter et developper les compétences clés du monde de demain : créativité, sens critique, collaboration.

Repenser sans cesse le modèle éducatif

Pour remplir pleinement sa mission, un modèle éducatif doit savoir évoluer pour épouser les besoins et les progrès de son temps. L'école de demain doit être intelligente, agile, orientée vers l'avenir.

Favoriser l'autonomie

L’enfant fait preuve d’un désir d’autonomie dès son plus jeune âge. Lorsqu’il est placé dans un environnement riche et bienveillant, ce désir devient source de créativité et d’épanouissement personnel.

Recréer du lien social

L’école doit pleinement jouer son rôle d’instruction civique et morale. Il s’agit d’inculquer un système de valeurs, notamment à travers la solidarité et le goût du partage.

Créer les conditions du bien apprendre et du bien-être

Le rôle de l’école est de créer un environnement bienveillant et joyeux qui respecte la différence pour révéler le meilleur de chacun.

Redéfinir la frontière entre l'école et la maison

Nous intégrons les parents dans le système pédagogique de L’Autre Ecole pour créer un lien étroit entre l’école et la maison, deux espaces d’apprentissage et de développement que nous considérons comme complémentaires.

De nombreuses sources
d'inspiration

L'Autre École fixe son cadre pédagogique au contact d'un collège pluridisciplinaire d'experts composé d’enseignants, de pédagogues, de chercheurs en neurosciences, de pédopsychiatres, de philosophes et de parents. Ces sources de connaissance et d'inspiration nourrissent la ligne éducative et la diversité  des enseignements de manière évolutive, pour tenir compte des avancées de la recherche, mais aussi des retours d’expérience des élèves, des parents et de la communauté des enseignants et accompagnants.  

L’enseignement mis en œuvre au sein de L’Autre École s’appuie ainsi notamment sur l’étendue des connaissances anciennes et nouvelles, avec une attention particulière portée aux pédagogies positives et alternatives centrées sur l’enfant (Montessori, Freinet, Steiner).

Notre comité
pédagogique

Une autre école est possible

Une autre école est ainsi possible, qui aurait pour ambition de donner à chacun les clés pour devenir un individu à la fois heureux et responsable de son environnement, s’insérant au mieux dans la communauté Humaine. Une école qui inviterait à aller à la rencontre de l’autre, où tout deviendrait possible, pour que nos enfants puissent incarner « le changement que nous voulons voir dans ce monde ».